top of page

Body struggles

How are you, dear Andy? I miss you.


As it approaches summer, I’ve been looking at my body shape a little bit more than usual. Despite me consciously telling myself to eat more, I seem to still be at around 46-47kg these days.


Yesterday , I looked back at my selfies of the same outfit for 3 years because I want to see if there’s any difference.


2024:

2023:

2022:


There have been quite a few people who mentioned to me that I look slimmer than before, especially those aunties at work. I usually respond by joking that I cook healthier food in the UK for myself that’s why.


I don’t think most people would understand that this is actually part of the mental struggles. The reality is most people want to look slimmer. That’s also almost the only way I could talk myself out of my own anxious mind, that people don’t see me as worrying as I see myself for being underweight, and they might actually think I look better this way (maybe you’re one of them too.)


But deep inside, I actually feel ashamed of my body shape, because I see it as unhealthy. I see that I am skinny because of my depression and that I haven’t been exercising. I tried to eat more but I still don’t seem to gain more weight, and I am secretly frustrated by that. I thought of doing exercise but with my depression weighing me down, I just don’t have enough mental energy to motivate myself. And when I tried on my bottoms and they all no longer fit, and I can see my ribs from the mirror, that’s when it starts to feel scary.


It might be hard to believe that I actually cry over this matter. In the crying, I realised that the root of all of these anxious thoughts about my body is actually insecurity - the feeling that no one will choose me or like me because I don’t look attractive enough, or I am just not good enough. In fact, no matter I am underweight or overweight or normal, I would still see that I don’t have a good enough body for anyone to like me.


But tonight, I felt God responded to me on this. He reminded me that that is not true, I am not unwanted. He loves me a lot and he wants me to be able to see that I am worth loving too and it’s not dependent on my body shape.


That’s when I realised that while this body isn’t looking perfect now, it is actually this same body that has tolerated all my mental breakdowns for the last 2 years yet still tried her best to be functional, it didn’t even fall sick once during my whole year in the UK. In fact, I should be proud instead of being ashamed of her.


It might be true that it now requires some work to “restore” my body, but it’s definitely a body this is worth loving and worth the work. And even though I might find it mentally challenging to do all the normal things that will help my body, but I can always take one step at a time, and my body will wait for me.


Sharing these very vulnerable and internal thoughts with you, hope that it lightens you to love yourself too. Miss you.

Comments


bottom of page