top of page

A “different” day of work today

Hello my dear, miss you. Hope you are okay.


I had a slightly special work schedule today. In the morning, I had to do a store visit at Citistore Tsuen Wan, then go back to the office and lunch with the big group (all those whom you know) to farewell someone (you don’t know), and lastly another store visit at Cityplaza Taikoo.


Well you should know me well enough to tell that this sounds like a super tough long day for the introvert Hannah :) That’s why before I got out of bed and started my day this morning, I reflected again on what I shared in the “but what if” post. I challenged myself and asked God to help me again to be someone who will give my best to whatever that is put in front of me and build up the people I will be meeting today.


In fact, what makes today even more different than all the other onsite/office day was actually that I was going to the store visits with our old team: Jason, Miley, Siuham, and Jenny. My role now no longer requires me to work closely with the full TBS team, especially like Jason or Harry. So for me to suddenly be with this combo of people, it reminds me so much of the old days when you were also here.


Because I was driving to all the different locations today, I offered them a ride, and Jason was the one who sat next to me in the car. And you know how I feel about Jason :) I tend to avoid him because I find him weird in many ways and I just get uncomfortable whenever he chats with me even casually. And as usual, he talked a lot to me in the car (while I was trying to focus on driving, haha) about all kinds of random stuff.


But to my own surprise, I felt less of the urge to shut myself off from him when he started to “blow water” with me. Instead, there was this little voice in my heart that says “why don’t you give him a second chance to interact with you? You don’t need to befriend him, it’s already good enough if you try to be a nice welcoming colleague to him.”


That narrative in my heart changed the way I approached every interaction I had with different people today, not just with Jason.


I guess I can have a million reasons to why I push people away. They might have hurt me, they might have added work or trouble to me, maybe I just simply don’t like them or feel that they will never understand me, or most of the time I am just too mentally exhausted and unavailable for anyone. But I guess God does have his unique way to work within my heart every time when I am stuck in my own head.


I really like what I wrote in the end of that post “but what if”: But perhaps the silence from God was intentional so that I could have enough space to meditate on what he has already revealed to me and allow that to permeate through every detail of my seemingly “mundane” and stuck life while he works out the things that are beyond my grasp at the moment.


It was still a super loooong day that the introvert Hannah needs some time to recover from, haha. But I hope my sharing “encourages” you in some way. Love you my dear 🤍 and miss you extra today.


Some photos of my busy day:

It’s Howe’s birthday and we had cake


One of my “babies” is launched in HK, Jenny took this photo of me


Lastly how I look today


Comments


bottom of page