top of page

Day 2 HK

How are you, Andy? I miss you.


I landed in Hong Kong yesterday at 6am, and I spent all my mental and physical energy to stay awake through the day by working and doing a lot of meetings, I passed out at 11pm.


My brother is still travelling in Europe with his girlfriend and he won’t be back till next Tuesday, so there’s actually no one here when I got back. It feels strange to be back to HK where there’s no one waiting for me. But I am also kinda enjoying this solitude because I have been spending a lot of time with different people through the whole trip, first it was work colleagues in Paris, then friends in London, and lastly family in Manchester.


From my experience, my jetlag is usually more serious whenever I come back to HK. I also know that it will probably take me quite a bit of time and effort to adjust back to the pace, environment, and everything else of HK. As I shared in the last post, I struggle with this quite a lot.


Before I got on my flight, I was chatting with the chinese doctor, and I shared with him how I find it hard to fit in HK and it always takes me some time to adapt back to the HK lifestyle even though this place is supposed to be my home. He said to me that it’s normal that I feel like people might look at me differently when I seem to be different from everyone else. But he encouraged me to be myself and don’t have to care too much about how people see me, because we can’t please everyone. And he said eventually I’ll find people who appreciate and respect who I am.


What he said reminded me of what you said to me before. I dig back to that note and this was what you wrote: Never doubt yourself. Your best was more than enough and I felt so lucky to have found you.


These words are probably one of the most touching words I could get from someone, because it is indeed so very true that Hannah likes to doubt herself.


I know I used to always feel very frustrated and anxious about what happens next whenever I return from a long trip. But this time, I decided that I want to embrace this transition period and just quietly let God lead me into the next season of this journey. I am probably still gonna feel a lot as I struggle to adapt, but perhaps the only way to get through it is to sit with those emotions and understand why I am feeling them, and let that be a way to learn more about myself.


Miss you, Andy. In my heart, you will always be one of my favourite cheerleader.


The last pic I took in my house in the UK, before I left to the airport


A pretty nice sunrise landing


First pic I took of myself today after coming back


Comments


bottom of page